ISBN 9781779220486
Pages 136
Dimensions 203 x 127 mm
Published 2006
Publisher Weaver Press, Zimbabwe
Format Paperback

Not Another Day

by Julius Chingono

Julius Chingono’s short stories and poems illuminate the everyday world of his native Zimbabwe: the buzzing townships, and the rural homestead. Depicting characters who face poverty, tragedy and violence with strength and courage, the author brings a ready humour to otherwise bleak situations, and a sharp eye to events and encounters in the country. Chingono’s acute awareness of the many absurdities of the society in which he lives ensure his place as a life-affirming chronicler of its development.

Book Preview


'His stories enable you to look at your own society with a detachment that lets you laugh.'  

Shimmer Chinodya

'Zimbabwe’s story, with all the political, economic and social problems, would make for a grim reading. But the beauty about this collection is that Chingono consummately sidesteps choking us with a heavy dosage of tragedy. He however opts to give us a chance to laugh at ourselves despite all our problems, and some of the absurdities –– dressed as culture –– in our lives. His large sense of humour is enormous and makes for a pleasurable read.' 

Sunday Mirror, Zimbabwe

"Not Another Day is a compelling read. It is highly recommended."

The African Book Publishing Record

About the Author

Julius Chingono

The late Julius Chingono, who was born on a commercial farm in 1946, worked for most of his life on the mines. As a poet, he has had his work published in several anthologies of Shona poetry including Nhetembo, Mabvumira eNhetembo and Gwenyambira between 1968 and 1980. His only novel, Chipo Changu was published in 1978 and an award-winning play, Ruvimbo, was published in 1980. His poetry in English has also been published in several South African and Zimbabwean anthologies: Flags of Love (Mireza yerudo) (1983) and Flag of Rags (1996) and Intwasa Poetry (2008). He has a short story in each of the collections Writing Still (2003) and Writing Now (2005) and Long Time Coming: Short Writings from Zimbabwe (2008). Weaver Press published his own collection of short stories, Not Another Day in 2006. 

Related Books