ISBN 9780987028228
ePub ISBN 9781928476184
Pages 160
Dimensions 210 x 148 mm
Published 2013
Publisher Deep South, South Africa
Formats Paperback, eBook

Rough Music

Selected Poems 1989-2013

by Ari Sitas

The night’s very restless inyanga is already by the pier,
eyes shut, pacing
and murmuring the 11th commandment of a new faith.
The beer-stained guards have exhausted their shift
umpiring since dawn the eternal struggle
between mynahs and crows by the rubbish bins.
The fishermen, past their third bottle of cane
dream of grunters, reek of shad
and complain that no ship was hooked
even though they cast their lines far in the far gardens of foam.
And there: the sea’s eyelid full of fins
the factory sirens quiet at last
the hooligan moon peers over the Bluff
and the horses of the deep get restless.

Book Preview
eBook (EPUB)

About the Author

Ari Sitas

Ari Sitas is a distinguished sociologist, novelist, dramatist, a founder member of the Junction Avenue Theatre Company, and a cultural activist celebrated for his work in popular and worker theatre. As a poet he has written eight books, and collaborated with many visual artists and musicians. His poems are passionate, politically undaunted and wide-ranging, expressed with the exploratory instinct of a jazz improviser. 

Related Books